logo2By Reagan Pepper

I’m not going to pretend I follow President Trump’s parade all over social media. I imagine I keep up with his accounts just like many others do (even if they aren’t willing to admit it) through the documented screw-ups and newsworthy stories his comments on social media generate.

In fact, I just followed him on Twitter merely five minutes before writing this. Until then, the only way I knew what our president was Tweeting was through various news organizations reporting on his outbursts (like the time he apparently called out Meryl Streep after she made a very obviously anti-Trump speech at the Golden Globes).

I don’t follow him on Facebook, I don’t follow him on Instagram, and if he’s active on any other social media outlets, I don’t even know about it.

Based on the articles I’ve read about Trump’s media presence, he’s most vocal on Twitter, which makes sense. Twitter limits you to 140 characters, so a message can be delivered quickly and concisely, which appeals more to today’s public with each passing day.

Trump has over 23 million Twitter followers, far surpassing his almost 20 million Facebook followers, and 5.5 million Instagram followers. So whether you worship every character that appears on his Twitter feed, or curse his every thought, you’d be a fool to say he didn’t know what methods prove most helpful in reaching his public.

Past that, I don’t see much progress. With a quick scroll through his Twitter feed, I can already tell he casually handles his online presence. This scroll actually proved entertaining to me as I could see the shift to a more “political” appearance. In other words, someone finally convinced Trump that he’s the President of the United States, not an Internet troll.

But all of this proves rather useless in my opinion, because I don’t think the important question is how Trump is handling the media. The important question is how the media is handling Trump. And what a can of worms that opens.

The truth is, I don’t need to follow Trump on social media to know what he’s doing. Two seconds into the Internet, and it doesn’t matter where I am, some news about Trump will bombard my otherwise relaxing, politics-free day. And what are 95 percent of the articles I see? Completely and embarrassingly biased, if not total lies.

Trump uses the media just like the rest of us do, he’s just the President of the United States. There’s no crazy innovation or mind-altering methods behind how he presents himself online. The reason the media is in a frenzy is because of what he’s doing in office, not what he’s saying online (in most cases, save the Meryl incident).

Trump handles the media just fine. It’s the media that has a problem handling Trump.

Save

