logo2By Keely Paxton

Unlike many others, I believe Donald Trump does a fairly decent job at handling the media and their efforts to embarrass and attack him, and I definitely think he handles it better than any Republican ever has. He has the media smarts to manage it, and it’s no fun to attack a guy who isn’t the least bit embarrassed or ashamed. His decades in the public eye have created an unforgettable brand that seems to protect him from attacks, and his status as a legitimate celebrity (not a political one) has taught him how to handle and manipulate the media. In President Trump’s bestselling book, The Art of the Deal, he wrote:

“One thing I’ve learned about the press is they’re always hungry for a good story, and the more sensational, the better,” he writes on page 56, according to an article published by International Business Times. “It’s in the nature of the job, and I understand that. The point is that if you are a little different, or a little outrageous, or if you do things that are bold or controversial, the press is going to write about you.”

Trump’s approach to the media isn’t a traditional one in respect to other politicians, but the attacks don’t seem to be working on Trump, and, as it turned out, this was a huge advantage for him in the election. Most Republicans who voted for Trump wanted a street fighter who could fight fire with fire.

In The Art of the Deal, he wrote, “[W]hen people treat me badly or unfairly or try to take advantage of me, my general attitude, all my life, has been to fight back very hard,” according to International Business Times.

Trump has succeeded because he’s retained his vulgar force and translated it into the political arena. I will not go out of my way to defend all of his actions and words, because I understand there is a line to be drawn at some point, but I have to give him some credit for the way he handles the media and how he uses their efforts to attack him to his advantage.

Save

