By Abby Vance

“I’ll get you my pretty, and your little dog, too!”

One of the most prominent memories of media I have growing up is this iconic line from “The Wizard of Oz.” This movie has always been my favorite. In fact, when I was a little girl, you could find me hiding under a blanket as the Wicked Witch flew away on her broomstick and howled her evil laugh.

I watched this movie so much that my mother had to actually hide it from me because she grew tired of me always watching it and crying when the witch would arrive at the scene. I was never really interested in the popular Disney movies that were surfacing at the time, and I always enjoyed watching older shows and movies and listening to older songs.

Because my parents are older than most my age, I was influenced by older media. When they were younger, the radio was the most popular form of media they remembered. They enjoyed listening to songs on the radio and watching shows that were popular when they were growing up, such as “I Love Lucy” and “The Dick Van Dyke Show.While I may not have known it as a child, I have grown to appreciate the older forms of media – radios, televisions and computers.

Now, in 2017, media is much different than it was in 1997 – even as recent as 2007.  Walking in the grocery store, nearly every child has some form of cellular device attached at his/her hip.

The growth of cell phones has been colossal over the past 10 years.  In fact, it’s scary to think how consumed our world will become with media in the next 10 years, especially by looking at how engrossed we all have become to media sources such as Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Cell phones aren’t the only media we use – tablets, iPads, laptops, and Xboxes, to name a few, are becoming prominent in today’s media world.

There’s a new song titled, I Wanna Go Back, by David Dunn, and his message really hits home with me.  I think we all should go back to simpler times – before the media became as huge as it is now.

People actually smiled and conversed with one another walking from place-to-place. I’m not saying people still don’t do that now; I’m just saying it would be nice for us to live where media isn’t an all-consuming matter.

Save

Save

