logo2By Hannah Humphreys

When my mom drove me to school, we listened to the Kid Kraddick morning show. It was one of the lesser unfortunate, consistent things in my life at the time, and I relied on hearing that talk show every morning, preparing myself for the occurrences of that day. I still attempt to listen to The Kid Kraddick Morning Show because it reminds me of the good laughs I had when things in the past were so minuscule compared to the problems today.

The media my parents used was pretty similar to mine minus the social media aspect. My parents watch and still watch the news every morning, every afternoon, and every night. Television, once being a source of information, has now become more of “Oh what did [insert name here] do this time,” rather than breaking news.

My local newspaper was a light in my parents’ life. My mom would always want me to go into the Chevron gas station across from my high school and grab a paper with 50 cents in hand. Now, my parents probably have no idea how much the local paper costs because of their growing lack of interest in what journalists are saying that has no substance.

The media I used as a child consisted of a CD player, VCR machine, and the Nintendo 64 all hooked up to a large box TV. Cellular devices were up and coming, and I remember not receiving a phone of my own until I was in the 6th grade. Kids nowadays have cell phones, computers, TVs, and radio to their complete disposal.

Anything and everything can be found on the Internet. Lifestream TV wasn’t even a thing until recently, and boy are we eating it up. I would say younger generations use media quite differently. 

Landlines were still a thing in my home until I was about 16 and are now almost obsolete. These kids bank on seeing the latest scandal or Face-timing their BFF with the latest gossip, and wouldn’t even think about having to pick up something connected to the wall with chords.

Thinking back onto the simpler times, and how my main source used to be the television, and now it is my cellphone, gives me a pretty realistic perspective on what is yet to come in the future for technology.

Save

