logo2By River Childers

My first media experience was watching the famous and powerful movie “Remember the Titians” with Denzel Washington in the lead role. I can remember watching the movie at a very young age and how much it impacted me because, from that point on, I loved movies and sports.

Media seen today is far from the media that my parents grew up watching. The media is larger with many telecasts and networks. When my parents were growing up, there were only a handful of channels to watch. Each had news telecasts in the evening, and that was it. In between the newscasts, there were little television shows that would play throughout the day.

My parents didn’t have the luxury of having a thousand channels and television companies like Dish, Comcast, AT&T, and Direct TV. Some of these companies have up to a thousand different channels, which was not around when my parents grew up. Also, internet was not around when they grew up. They didn’t have Netflix where they could stream whatever movie they wanted on their phone.

As a child, I had more access to media than my parents did. The internet was really starting to take off, and television companies began offering more channels. Children today have more access to different kinds of media than any generation in American history. Children can use touch screen devices, TVs with wifi routers and Playstations installed in them.  The list can go on and on.

When I was growing up, Disney Channel was really taking off, and that was what most of my peers were watching. Most children I know around the age of 11-16 have either an iPad or an iPhone and know how to use both devices very well.

Children today mainly watch movies on their phones rather than TV. Most children that I talk to know what is going on in the world, whether it be political issues, sports, etc., because they have easy access to different types of media and look at news stories every day.

When I would talk to children at my little brother’s school, they knew about political issues, news in the sports world, and news about different celebrities. When I asked them how they knew all of that, they said they saw it on their phone, the computer, etc. Media today is bigger than ever and isn’t going away anytime soon.

Save

