logo2By Noah Scannell

My earliest media memory was when my mom recorded “Blue’s Clues” on a VHS, and my dad and I watched the show together. I bugged my mom so she would not forget to record “Blue’s Clues” for me and my dad to watch. We watched the VHS recordings over and over. It was a daily ritual for us. I am sure my dad was tired of watching the same episode of “Blue’s Clues” over and over again with me, but that is a testament about how great of a dad I have.

I remember thinking it was so cool that we could record the episodes on the VHS tapes because it seemed so technologically advanced to me. My mom recording TV episodes on a VHS tape differs greatly from the media I use today. She also recorded my sports games from the stands for me and my dad to watch at home after the game.

Today, I do not record TV shows, movies, or sports games on a VHS tape. I can record them using DVR with the click of a remote on Time Warner Cable. It will record on its own, and I can watch it later whenever I choose. Smartphones today basically control every aspect of media. Whether it is checking the score of my favorite sports teams playing a game, playing games, checking social media to see what the latest news is and what my friends are doing, or taking a picture, it is all available right in my hands using a smartphone.

It really is crazy to think about how much technology and the media has advanced over the past 15 years. It is even crazier to think about how technology and media will advance over the next 15 years. The possibilities are endless. When I was a child, I primarily used media through VHS recordings, the radio and CDs. Today, children seem to get a smartphone or tablet at a very young age. Children have access to games, Netflix, music and social media all in one device.

