logo2By Keely Paxton

Two of my earliest media memories are watching “The Wiggles” on TV at my grandparents’ house and listening to The Eagles CD in my dad’s truck. I remember waiting for “The Wiggles” to come on, and how excited I would get when they sang their opening song. I stood in front of the TV singing and dancing, and I had all of the songs and dances memorized. Thanks to me, my family still knows the words to the songs “Fruit Salad” and “Hot Potato.”

I loved riding around in my dad’s truck, because I knew the second he started his engine, “The Eagles” would begin playing.  I listened to the songs, humming the guitar parts I knew and singing the words I remembered. “Hotel California” was my favorite song on the album and the first song I remember knowing all the words to. To this day, when I hear an Eagles song, I immediately think back to those moments and can’t help but smile.

In my generation, we are used to connecting with each other almost immediately. Teenagers in the new generation spend most of their time chatting with their friends on their mobile phones or chatting online more than doing anything else. People from my parents’ generation are accustomed to writing letters to contact friends that are far away. They like to deal with other people face to face.

When I was a child, I did not have an Instagram, Twitter or Facebook. I had a disposable camera I used to capture my favorite moments, not an iPhone. I didn’t read the news on Facebook or Twitter. I heard it on TV. In just a matter of 15 years, the media has evolved immensely, in more ways than most of us notice, and will continue to.

