logo2By McKaylan Gray

In 1999, when I was 3, Britney Spears was my obsession. My earliest and most vivid media memories are watching and dancing to a Britney Spears music video movie with all of her hits from 1998. The movie had all of my favorite songs. I can vividly remember dancing in my living room to every single video wanting to be just like her.

When I think about media at a young age, I remember Britney’s red leather suit in her hit, “Oops I did it again,” which may sound silly, but it also reflects my common interests today. I thought it was the coolest thing in the world. Fashion and music have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. I know media has influenced my preferences and shaped me.

We have more access to media today. Back then, it wasn’t as easy to Google a music video and watch it at any time. Instead, I came home everyday, put in a DVD and stood in front of the TV for hours mimicking Britney.

When my parents were growing up, there wasn’t much of an option when it came to what kind of music, TV shows, movies and news they were exposed to. They watched whatever was on. Kids today have the world at their fingertips and can find out things happening minutes after they occur.

Technology is constantly changing in more ways than we realize. I don’t necessarily think children today use the media any differently than we did. I just think they have more access to it.

The media has shaped my interests and aspirations. The media helps us in many ways. It keeps us updated. Movies, newspapers, television, radio, music, and much more is a huge part of the world we live in.

