logo2By Samantha Stephans

The day of 9/11 was actually one of my most vivid memories as a child. At age 5, I was attending a pre-k located about 20 minutes away from my house. I remember my mom waking me up to get ready for school. We followed our daily morning routine… shower, brush teeth, brush hair, etc.

Usually when my mom cooked breakfast, I sat at our island counter and watched “The Today Show” because it was my mother’s favorite morning station. It was just the same old same old weather, local accidents, and celebrity gossip.

After I consumed my hearty breakfast, cinnamon sugar toast, mom and I headed off to school. We we about 10 minutes away from school when my mom got a call. The radio was playing some sort of pop music until it was interrupted by a “breaking news” alert. As I listened to what the man on the radio was saying, I looked up at my mom to see that her face was soaked in tears. “The twin towers have just been hit… A plane has just hit one of the towers.”

I didn’t go to school that day.

When we got home, my mom turned on the TV, and we saw pure horror. Almost every station that aired that day was covering the terror taking place in New York.

I don’t think the media has changed much in regards to how stories are portrayed. Yes, our technology has progressed significantly, but I feel as though subjects and matters are similar.

During a time like this, the ability to create a story that can be read/heard by people around the nation is much greater than when we were younger. Thanks to the internet and social media websites, it is much easier to do such things.

Save

