logo2By Marlene Middleton

Every night before I went to sleep when I was a kid, I asked my dad to tell me a story. This was because he had really good (mostly funny) stories about growing up on a farm. Now that I’m older, I realize the reason I found those stories so entertaining is because that time period was like a whole new world to me. The lack of technology he had growing up was, and still is, unimaginable to me.

In retrospect, some things were just better in the “good ol’ days.” The earliest media memory I have is with a magical piece of heaven called a vinyl record. There’s something about putting the needle down on the record and hearing the popping sound before the song comes on that no CD or music download could ever measure up to.

The first records I experienced were Beatles records (of course). My dad is a huge Beatles fan. He saw them in concert when he was 16. I remember hearing the songs, picking the ones I like the most. I picked which Beatle I liked the most (It was Paul, duh), and I sang along and danced around the living room to “Yellow Submarine” because it was such a silly song.

Today, not much has changed. Every few weeks, my dad and I go to the local record store together. Sometimes we just look. Sometimes we buy records. On a daily basis, I play a record on my record player. The coolest thing about that is some of the newer bands that I listen to actually release their albums on vinyl. It’s something that is very popular now among artists today. Go in any Urban Outfitters, and they have a massive section totally dedicated to vinyl).

While some people say vinyl is “inconvenient” and a “complete waste of money,” to me it’s something special. It’s my first memory of music. It’s the first thing I really remember forming an opinion on at such a young age.

These things have carried on into my adult life in other ways as well. I’ve seen Paul McCartney in concert twice. (For those of you who don’t know, he was one of the Beatles). I’ve seen Billy Joel and Guns N’ Roses just to name a couple other older bands that I grew up listening to on vinyl (or cassette). My love for that never went away, and it never will. All my friends are curious about it too, which is nice.

Now we can download a song with the click of a button, and it’s on our phones for us to listen to. I also like this a lot. I’m big into technology, so I enjoy my music on demand. But at the end of the day when I come home, nothing beats putting on my favorite record. No matter how complicated that may be.

Save

