What have you learned or newly considered this semester about media and mass communication?

  1. The world revolves around media. It’s where we get all of our information, and it affects what we do each and every day. It’s become something we can’t live without.
  2. People still read. I was starting to think that people didn’t read anymore. I know it’s at an all time low, but it’s nice to know that we are still reading, even if it’s on our phones.
  3. Social media has power. This past semester, I have learned so much about media and mass communication. Two things that really stood out to me were how much our society depends on social media, and what the affect of our dependency on social media could mean for our future. Even in this class, we were referred to social media for our assignments and announcements. Education, work, and socializing all are dependent on social media now because we have become so dependent. Watching the “Black Mirror” episodes this semester opened my eyes to what the future could possibly be because of the way we use social media to impress, judge and forget other people.
  4. Writing a news story. I’ve learned the proper format of writing a news story. I had no idea until I took this class.
  5. I learned to ask questions. When I was interviewing my subjects for our mid-term story, I asked them questions they had never even considered themselves. In order to get an effective interesting story, you have to ask the proper questions. You also have to properly and ethically dissect the answer, not make it say what you want it to say. I learned that in this class.
  6. What I want. I’ve learned two important things this semester. Those two things are myself and my desires. Media, mass communication, and journalism all play a part in who I am. At first, I was blinded, but now I truly see. After taking this class, I newly consider the powers of technology. I never thought so deeply about what condition the world could be in from technology. I’ve also learned many things that influenced the creation of journalism. Finding myself helped me to break the boundaries of fear to communicate on a mass level.
  7. Media is widespread and influential. The media has so much influence on society and the way that we think. Sometimes we don’t realize how influential the media is in our decisions and how it can change or impact our morals. In addition, I’ve learned that mass communication is not just through newspapers or the news on TV; it can also be through the shows we watch on Netflix and social media, like Twitter and Instagram. – Destiny Walsh
  8. Evolution of media. I have learned how different types of media and mass communication have evolved over time together and how they are all connected in some way. Outlets of traditional media, social media and journalism in general grow together because they are always in competition and learning from each other. This is also what connects them. All media is intertwined in some way. – Margaret Wallace
  9. History of journalism. I have newly considered the importance and significance of journalism throughout history, and how journalism has really changed society forever in so many ways. Journalism is also important in our current history because the journalists and media outlets have the opportunity to shape the future. – Margaret Wallace
  10. How to be a better writer. One thing I learned was how to be a journalistic writer. I have always been a writer, but this semester, I learned how to cover topics in a whole new way. I learned how to share my voice, and as a result, I was able to share my story. That is and always will be one of the most humbling opportunities of my life. – Abby Vance
  11. Escape comfort zones. I learned how to get out of my comfort zone. Researching new topics is extremely beneficial in journalism. Through the use of multiple media sources, I have been enlightened on new trends that will help my future career. – Abby Vance
  12. Media is a huge part of our lives. Whether or not we are aware of it in our daily life, media is a huge part of our day. How we get news, the hours we spend on social media – it all plays a huge role in our lives. We can even give it the power to control us, and that’s one thing I’ve learned to be more aware of. – Elizabeth Toso
  13. How to write better. Journalism as a whole has taught me how to be a better writer all around, especially our mid-term project. It taught me how to write as a journalist and in a resourceful way, rather than throwing random facts down that were completely unrelated to my point. These are skills that aren’t taught in writing 101 or 102. These are life skills. – Elizabeth Toso
  14. Consider other opinions. I have learned to carefully consider other people’s perspectives. Also, I’ve developed a new appreciation for the variety of opinions held by my classmates. Each have their own set of values they use to form an opinion. Thoughtful understanding can improve my own understanding, and even alter my viewpoint. – Matt Thompson
  15. Mass media affects society. I have learned how greatly mass media has affected us as a society. I have experienced it firsthand through the use of social media, technology, television and ads. I have also learned how far back in history mass media goes and how it has been influencing us for centuries. Social media is the newest form of mass communication and media, and I believe in many years to come, it will all just be a thing of the past and something new will have our undivided attention. – Morgan Taylor
  16. Keep up with current events. I learned that being a journalist means that you have to keep up with current events at all times. This class allowed me to stay on top of what was going on in all aspects of media, politics and pop culture. You must know what is going on in order to produce stories that mean something to your audience. – Chauncey Taylor
  17. There are multiple forms of mass communication. Before this class, I had limited mass communication to speaking and news alone. This showed me that even a TV show or movie counts as mass communication as well. My eyes have been opened to see deeper meanings to things than what is on the surface and to be able to make educated opinions on those things. – Chauncey Taylor
  18. Tech consumption. After watching “Black Mirror,” I’ve become more aware of my technology use and my friends’/family’s technology use. I constantly start phone stacks in the middle of the dinner table or put my phone in my glove box when I’m in the car with friends. I’m so terrified of becoming a member of a society that has no face-to-face interaction, and “Black Mirror” has made me aware of that. – Abby Tait
  19. Tech can be helpful. This semester, I’ve also learned about how our use of this technology can be our best friend. I’ve witnessed student elections and marketing campaigns put on solely through social media. I’ve discovered new branding techniques like hashtags and camera angles that work best for these type of projects. – Abby Tait
  20. Media’s impact. I have learned what a large impact all types of media has had on society past, present and in the future. I have learned how this impact affects human’s personal lives and society. – Elliot Sudduth
  21. We’re obsessed with media. I learned how consumed we are as a society with all types of media. Nosedive portrayed how obsessed we are with receiving public acceptance. This also shines a light on the negative effects excessive media consumption has on self esteem. – Elliot Sudduth
  22. Media complexity. Media and mass communication are more complex, various and more consuming than ever before in human history. This will only be more true as we head into the future. For better or worse, we live in a world that creates and distributes huge amounts of media/mass communication. Media today is for everyone, everywhere, all the time, whether we like it or not. I feel better knowing that. This semester has taught me more about the media all around me. – Ansley Stephenson
  23. Journalism is fun. Being in this class, I see the fun of being a journalist. You get to see many things and travel. You get to know tons of information before it releases. You can help the public with what you publish. – Kedrick Smith
  24. Technology can hurt the world. People spend too much time on it. It’s good if used right, but it’s getting out of hand. – Kedrick Smith
  25. Mass communication is complex. The first thing I’ve learned about media and mass communication is that a lot more goes into journalism than I thought. There are tons of methods and strategies for media and communication. There can be large audiences, small audiences, print, radio or TV media. They all have their own time and place. – Noah Scannell
  26. Technology will control the future. It is spreading more and more every day, and there is nothing to stop it. All forms of mass media and communications will be replaced by social media and technology. It is only a matter of time. – Noah Scannell
  27. WordPress. I had taken a lot of journalism classes before, and I sort of backtracked for this 101 class, so I already knew a lot of this material. I learned how to work with WordPress, and I’d like to use it on my own to help build a nice portfolio or something when I’m trying to get hired with a company. – C. Olivia Sanders
  28. Media and Mississippi. With my research, I found good articles describing Mississippi through others’ eyes. I learned a lot about how my classmates feel, which is cool because I’ve disassociated myself from other students while being here. – C. Olivia Sanders
  29. How to write a news story. I hate writing and often panic, but I found that I had fun writing my article, and it was actually pretty easy. This semester led me to consider the fact that I may actually be a good journalist. – Shanleigh Roberts
  30. Media’s effect. This semester helped put in perspective how the media truly affects us. I never considered media to be negative. However, I found that social media, specifically, has a bad effect on my mood and life. After learning about the different media effects companies use and watching Nosedive, I realized the media has a firm grasp on me that I want to get rid of. This semester helped open my eyes. I recently deleted some of my social media, and I feel more free already. – Shanleigh Roberts
  31. How to share my thoughts. This semester, I learned how to put my thoughts about certain, perhaps controversial topics, down and talk about them. One of my favorite blog posts this semester was the post about the Pepsi commercial. I say that because, from the get go, I thought the commercial was absurd, but getting to write about it and hear what my classmates had to say was really special to me. – Ashtin Riad
  32. How to blog. Another thing I learned this semester was how to blog. I had never blogged about anything in my life, and now I do it all the time, and it’s become a hobby. I love being able to express my opinions about topics near and dear to me, and hearing others opinions makes me feel more cultured. – Ashtin Riad
  33. Media is more than newspaper articles. We watched many episodes that opened my eyes to how the media will turn out in the near future, and it’s scary, because if I was never in this class, I would’ve never watched “Black Mirror” or probably even knew what it was. It makes me want to spread awareness about the future and how people already predicted it. This class opened my mind to write about a campaign that I would actually want to start after I started to think about how creative it was. – Alexis T. Rhoden
  34. Journalism opportunities. This semester, I learned a lot about how many opportunities there are in the world of journalism. There is so much more that goes into journalism writing than I ever imagined. These people spend so much time writing and interviewing people about subjects they truly care about/are interested in. It is about so much more than just “writing” to them, which I think is incredible. – Ashton Rawls
  35. The importance of photography. I also learned to consider the role of photography in the media. A picture is worth a thousand words really couldn’t be more true. With our blog post we had to do with the photos, I really enjoyed how a good story can be turned to a great story after adding a photo. So many people are visual people, so adding those great photos to enhance your work is something I never really thought to do before this class. Media outlets, such as Facebook and Instagram also help this. – Ashton Rawls
  36. Writing improvement. This semester has been enjoyable to me. I have learned a lot, and have been able to improve and develop my skills of writing and journalistic abilities. I’ve learned that media and mass communication are extremely important and powerful tools. Another important thing I learned was how complex mass communication is. At first I thought of mass communication as news sources, but with the help of this class, I have come to find out it is so much more than that. Mass communication comes in many different forms. – Emily Reynolds
  37. Technology’s impact. I’ve learned the impact technology is having on mass communication and how it is only going to grow immensely from here. – Rex Ravita III
  38. Origin of mass media. I learned the origins of mass media and how communication has changed since it began. Rex Ravita III
  39. Journalism is hard work. One of the main things I learned about journalism this semester was the amount of behind the scenes work that is required in order to create a strong, powerful and compelling story. I always knew you needed to stay up to date with what is happening in the world, but I never really thought about how much time and effort goes into researching your story.
  40. Influence of multimedia. This journalism course really opened my eyes to how much influence multimedia really has on our society and the world in general. It was always just an everyday act for me, checking Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc., but throughout this course, I began to imagine what my life and the overall society would be like without media, and honestly couldn’t really imagine it. We place so much emphasis on media, and are so heavily influenced by it, that we don’t even realize it. This semester has really helped open my eyes to the role media plays in our everyday lives. – Keely Paxton
  41. Journalism takes time. I have learned how much time and energy goes into writing a story. I learned this while doing my mid-term project. – Ryan Najim
  42. Our media consumption. Media has an incredible affect on our daily lives, and our new mass communication is the future of campaigns. I never noticed how much media I used until this semester. I began to keep track, and not one day went by did I not use it. It is a positive and a negative. – Thomas Mooney
  43. Media’s influence. Media has had more of an effect on society than maybe anything else. Media has an influence on everyone, whether they know it or not. Older people are even influenced because newspapers are a form of media and mass communication. You don’t have to have an electronic device to be influenced by media, and that seems crazy. – Seth Mohundro
  44. Don’t be afraid to share your opinion. I learned to not be afraid to put my opinion out there. We read a lot of articles with a lot of different views, and I learned that not everyone is going to agree with me, and that’s OK. – Marlene Middleton
  45. Mass communication is important. It covers every area of life. The things we do all tie back to this. – Marlene Middleton
  46. Media history. I learned the long history of the media I see in my life today. I realized the origins run as deeply as Johannes Gutenberg’s distribution of the Bible in the 1400s, introducing mass text media to the world. – Brantley Meaders
  47. The medium of media. Another thing I’ve considered in this class is the significance/importance of the medium in which the media is communicated. Some mediums, like movies and TV, seem better for telling stories of fiction, while radio and television broadcasts give us powerful tools for mass communication. The internet is a modern medium that gives us access to information like never before. – Brantley Meaders
  48. Longform writing. This class made me reconsider the importance of longform journalism, reporters and stories. Coming into this class, I thought the listicle was going to be the death of real journalism. I now understand the incredibly important place longform journalism has and why it can never die without these stories and reporters. Pieces like the one in “Spotlight” would have never happened. – Eoin McKenna
  49. Journalism passion. I have learned my personal passion for journalistic writing during this semester, something I had never explored before. I now want to pursue journalism, something I wouldn’t have considered without this class giving me the proper platform and skill set. – Eoin McKenna
  50. Get your work published. While Professor Rucker has taught us many important things this semester, two stick out in my mind. First off, she has demonstrated the importance of getting your writing published, even if it’s just on a small blog. The more effort you make to get your work out there, the better your chances of success are. You have to put yourself out into the world in order to be noticed, and Professor Rucker has definitely made that clear to us. She has reposted our blog assignments, shown what connections she has to the journalism world, and encouraged us to pursue this in every writing assignment we have done. Essentially, she has illustrated the power in media and mass communication. – Eliza McDow
  51. Embrace your creativity. Another thing I have learned this semester is to embrace and emphasize your creativity in media and mass communications, because that is how you get noticed. It is key to follow your creative instinct in order to stick out to others in the media world. Without showing individuality and uniqueness, you will get overlooked. I learned this from how often Professor Rucker acknowledges creative ideas. Overall, I am taking away many new ideas from my semester in this class. – Eliza McDow
  52. How I portray myself on media. Personally, when it comes to media, I have considered the way I portray myself on it, and have made changes. This class has shown me that no one lives the life they put on social media every day, and that takes a lot of pressure off of trying to portray myself as perfect to my followers. I have this class to thank for showing me that there are more important things in life. – Lexi McCoy
  53. Mass media’s reach. I have also thought about how widespread mass media really is. I never realized it until this class. News outlets can reach millions of people within seconds, and it makes me consider how much mass communication has grown. – Lexi McCoy
  54. Technology’s impact. After watching the “Black Mirror” series, I seriously considered deleting all social media and exiling myself to a mountain far away from technology in hope of preserving myself from such monstrosity, but then I realized we just have to go with the flow, or rather grow as in growth of technology. Another thing I learned is how powerful the media is. Media has become such a huge part of our everday life that it’s almost just subliminal, the power it embodies. I learned the negative impacts media can have through the lesson on how the media changes the way we perceive ourselves and our bodies as women. I learned it’s all about perspective at the end of the day. Think your own thoughts. – Laine-Alden Mansour
  55. How to write a news story. I had no idea how to do that or what that looked like, but I learned over our mid-term project. – Mackenzie Brinson
  56. Seeing different viewpoints. One thing I have learned this semester is how to see one event in a bunch of different ways. Hearing the opinions of others, whether I agree with them or not, has left me a more understanding and open-minded person. That is so important to me as a writer, and I am grateful to have gotten the ability to further that diverse understanding.
  57. The value of sharing my opinion. Many times, I keep to myself about things I believe in because I feel that my voice doesn’t matter, but this semester has taught me just how powerful my voice actually is, whether it is by inspiring others to look at a situation differently or by bringing an irrelevant topic into the light that could spark change and/or conversation. – Grayson Baird
  58. Media plays a huge role in the world. Media allows people all over the world to communicate and enlighten others on current events. This class has made me realize that there are many career paths to pursue through journalism. I have decided that I want to pursue a career in either public relations or write for a magazine. – Caroline Boals
  59. Writing articles. I learned how to properly write articles, which was a neat and fun process. I learned horizontal photos are best and studied the tones of my peers/others works to help me with my own. I also learned a lot about the communication side of things. – Carter Loeb
  60. Learn my strengths and weaknesses. This semester has allowed me to really, not only learn about my strengths and weaknesses as a writer, but opened my eyes to the world of media and mass communication. One thing I learned this semester was how media truly does connect everyone and everything. Yes, that’s common knowledge, but I enjoyed learning how all the pieces of the puzzle fit together to create a giant net. – Nicole Lavery
  61. The importance of journalists. I knew it was their job to write and report on things and essentially let others know what’s up, but I never really thought before this class where we would be without them. After watching “Spotlight,” it really hit me that there are so many issues we would have never been aware of without them. – Nicole Lavery
  62. What journalism takes. Before this course, I had some idea, but now I can understand the importance of this lesson. For one, an individual must be creative and able to put together a well organized story. Also, one needs to be able to develop questions that they can use for interviews and then take those answers and insert key quotes into the story. I learned that everyone has strengths and weaknesses, and it’s important to work on both to expand your abilities. Most of all, a journalist must be able to take critiques because these little things will help strengthen your stories, further your knowledge and teach you lessons. – Cece Kizer
  63. Mass communication is exciting. I learned that it’s way more exciting than I thought it would be. I’m happy it wasn’t just “Here’s a book and a topic. Now write about it.” Another thing I learned is that practice makes progress. I can see my improvement in my entries back from the beginning of the semester to now, and I think that says a lot. – Courtney Kennedy
  64. Reporting is a meaningful job. It’s necessary for the benefit of our society, and without reporters, issues such as “Spotlight” would go undetected. The second main thing I’ve considered is that being a journalist takes on many forms and duties. – Christian Johnson
  65. The history of mass communication. The first thing I learned about media and mass communication is that I, personally, am very intrigued by the history-making and development of media since the beginning. Before this class, I did not believe I would enjoy following and being kept up-to-date with news stories, etc. every day, and I found a passion I didn’t know I obtained. – Annie Johnson
  66. Media’s impact is widespread. If not for TV outlets, newspapers, podcasts, etc., we would be completely oblivious of issues, common knowledge news and even the weather. – Hannah Humphreys
  67. Don’t judge a book by its cover. There are many students in this class who I thought would not have the opinions they did. This goes to show people, myself included, are quick to judge, much like in the media. – Hannah Humphreys
  68. Media hyperbias. I have newly consider media hyperbias and its affects on media trust levels and how social media age information gathering techniques feed into our current hysteria/outrage culture. Media hyperbias has greatly affected media trust levels, especially throughout the recent election. As people begin to notice more extremely biased sources reporting only the facts that advance their own agendas, they begin to distrust mass media to report a full and honest story, and begin really paying attention to both how and where they got information, mass media is reporting, and what it is not. – Mary Elizabeth High
  69. Outrage culture. Social media newsgathering habits have created a culture of outrage and hysteria because most “news” sources do not report accurate or factual stories, as they are held to a lower, or nearly non-existent, standard of fact-checking or ethics. People quickly take in sensational headlines created to induce outrage or hysteria and then share the content often along with an emotional or reactionary message before gathering facts verifiable by multiple sources, thus reporting false information and feeding into the outrage, blame and lack of logical discourse in our society. – Mary Elizabeth High
  70. Think about your audience. The Pepsi commercial with Kendall Jenner – yeah, maybe they thought this was a good idea because they spent money on making the commercial and airing it, but they failed. People perceived the message as negative and mocking. So I learned you always have to think about how your audience would perceive things. – Nicole Henderson
  71. Seeing Mississippi differently. Another thing I considered was to stop thinking about all the bad in Mississippi. I am from New Orleans, so there’s more things to do and more of a city there. When we had class presentations about Mississippi, I noticed that a lot of the people take pride in this state no matter all of the stereotypes. I was quick to judge, but this is a beautiful place to call home. – Nicole Henderson
  72. People aren’t as independent-minded as I thought. So many people just believe what they see on TV, and don’t do their own fact-checking. It’s a shame media outlets don’t do more fact-checking themselves. it’s their job to bring the facts to the public’s attention anyway, not saying what they think people want to hear. – Isaac Harrelson
  73. Writing comes pretty natural to me. I enjoy it. I’ve always detested English and writing, but this semester, I’ve been proud of my projects, and I’ve found a voice in a way. I like feeling like what I write could have an audience. – Isaac Harrelson
  74. Have a diverse body of work. With Media Rewind, no blog was ever the same. We all had different ideas or thoughts. I learned greatly the good things that come from diversity in mass communication. You’re able to connect with others that you wouldn’t have thought known what you wrote about. – Brandon Hardaway
  75. I was shown how different our world is. This seems obvious, but coming from a  girl who has spent the entirety of her life in Mississippi and not really been accustomed or cultured in other ways, it is interesting to see how different everyone is and how people turn to the media to express themselves. – Taylor Harbour
  76. Cyber-bullying – The first thing I learned this semester about the media was about the stress and health issue social media can cause. I learned about the cyber-bullying epidemic and the Livestream suicides. I had always thought of social media as something that was only helpful until this class.
  77. History of mass communication. I wasn’t expecting history lessons in my journalism class, but it was interesting learning that the first writings were 1,300 BC in the Middle East, the invention of the printing press caused the decline of the Latin language, the invention of the telegraph, and how the Penny Press only cost a few cents per issue. – Sam Gray
  78. I view social media differently. I have considered social media in slightly different ways this semester. I have always understood the simple pros and cons, but never analyzed how much they affect people in such detail.
  79. Different people have different ideas. I have learned that how someone interprets something determines if they support it or not. A message could be portrayed two different ways, but one might be offensive to someone and not the other. – McKaylan Gray
  80. Media controls every aspect of our lives. It controls our political opinion. It controls what we see around the world, and it controls how we view ourselves. And the media takes full advantage of that. News stations choose what to report. Journalists choose what stories to write. Magazines choose what images to produce. What we see and hear affects us cognitively, whether we realize it or not. – Emma Gaddy
  81. The media is everywhere all the time. Whether you are listening to the radio, reading pamphlets posted on a door, or watching television, the media cannot be escaped. Stories are constantly being produced because news is always happening. We, as a society, have become so accustomed to a media-driven world, that we do not realize just how prevalent it is in our everyday lives. – Emma Gaddy
  82. Social media is more than I realized. I look at media completely different now. People create media just to sway different people’s opinions about things. I know the media is there to inform the world of current events, etc., but I believe it’s done more harm than good. I hope we can start using media as a positive, beneficial thing instead of in negative ways. – Morgan Feeny
  83. Many forms of media. I never realized how many forms of media there was. As we progress into the future, we have created so many more forms of media and communication, and that was mind-blowing to me. – Tyler Evans
  84. Journalism is hard.  Journalists have an incredibly tough job that most people would never even think about. In order for us to get some sort of media, journalists have to go through that long process of finding factual information, detective work, collaborating and presentation. It is not as easy as just writing a few words in a newspaper. – Tyler Evans
  85. How to build websites. I have learned many things this year, but two things that really stood out to me were how important journalism is and how to build websites. Going into the class, I usually did not think journalism was a big deal. I came to find out quickly that I was completely wrong. Journalism helps and informs people in the world today and helps shape society. I have learned so many things about social media, technology, and how it got started … I also learned how to build a website with blogs. – Caroline Duff
  86. Photos can tell a story. This was evident when we were doing our projects midway through the semester. Accompanying our article, we needed photos. It was evident to me in this project the importance of photos and how they reinforce the message you are trying to convey to the reader. – Patrick Chacone
  87. Creating my own blog. Something I newly considered after this class was creating my own blog with the media posts we turn in every Wednesday. It has opened my mind and curiosity about blog creation. Maybe there, I will be able to express my feelings and beliefs or comment on topics in the media. – Patrick Chacone
  88. Learned more about media. With everything happening in the media, I’m glad I took this class because I was able to study commercials, articles and videos that people see daily. – Arien Canales
  89. History of mass media. I always assumed when the computer came out is when mass media started, but I never took into consideration its past history, not including social media. I never knew the paper and books were all sources of mass media, so the course enlightened my ignorance to the phrase’s true meaning. – Jaimie Brooding
  90. Black Mirror. I knew the grasp media had on society, but it took “Black Mirror” to truly open my eyes and see the world for what it’s turning into; a lifeless fantasy of individualized media that dictates people’s lives and emotions. It showed me how scary media can be if you completely let it consume you because you lose that ability to connect with others because you’re so connected with your device/medium. I’m going to really try to warn others for the dangers and possibilities media has in the future. – Jaimie Brooding
